Identified by our location

Standard

“12 Now I want you to know, brethren, that my circumstances have turned out for the greater progress of the gospel, 13 so that my imprisonment in the cause of Christ has become well known throughout the whole praetorian guard and to everyone else, 14 and that most of the brethren, trusting in the Lord because of my imprisonment, have far more courage to speak the word of God without fear.” (Phil. 1:12-14)

It so great to read scripture with a fresh set of lenses and have it impact you in a greater way than you could have ever imagined.  I’ve read through Philippians many times over the years, taken tests on the text, and wrote papers but it is so easy to miss the deeper truth that is embedded in the text.

To understand Paul’s letter to the Philippians is to understand two things:  The first one is that Paul is in prison back in Rome for the cause of the gospel and the second is that he dearly loves the believers in Philippi.  He does sugarcoat that fact at all and constantly makes that known all throughout this letter.

It’s amazing to read this letter and see the optimism that Paul has.  It would be easy for him to fall into a state of depression.  At one time he was revered as a great religious leader and had everything going for him.  He had it all but the moment he decided to follow this man named Jesus, he lost it all.  Because of his allegiance to Jesus, Paul finds himself in prison.  I’m sure that prison for Paul is way different than the type of prison that we see here in America.  I’m sure Paul was given food to eat but the prison he was in was more like a torture camp.  There were probably rats and other rodents running around, disease was rampant, and the water was polluted.  You know it had to be eating at him that he was not able to be out in the field working for the cause of the gospel.  

Paul had given his life for this good news but now he finds himself in prison.  This had to be very demeaning for Paul and I’m sure he feared that the advancement of the gospel might slow down rapidly since he was not able to be out in the field.  His fear turns into joy because he realizes his misfortune has really turned into greater success for the gospel.  He notes that his imprisonment for the Gospel has become well known and is serving as courage for the believers to speak the Word of God without fear.  What could have been a bad situation actually is turning out to be better than Paul could have ever imagined.

I’m reminded about something that one of my seminary professors said one time, “he said don’t be identified by your condition but be identified by your location.”  If we are in located in Christ, then we have nothing to fear. So often we let our circumstances and our condition cripple us.  I know I’m guilty of that and have in some ways been battling that over the last few months.  One thing that I’ve found to be true is that when we are in the valley our relationship with Christ becomes more real.  We have to learn to trust him in the valley because He is all that we have.  Paul knew this because while he was sitting in prison and all that He had was Christ but as Paul found out that was all that he needed.  Christ is all that we need in our lives.  No matter the circumstances that we may find ourselves in.  It is important to be reminded that we need to be identified by our location in Christ.  

For Paul he knew that some people would love to heap more insult and pain on him and take advantage of his circumstances.  He says in verses 15-17, “15 Some, to be sure, are preaching Christ even from envy and strife, but some also from good will; 16 the latter do it out of love, knowing that I am appointed for the defense of the gospel; 17 the former proclaim Christ out of selfish ambition rather than from pure motives, thinking to cause me distress in my imprisonment.”  We find that in our own lives as well.  People sometimes want to kick us when we are down or we find that bad things tend to just keep happening with no end in sight.  

Paul has a word of encouragement for us though in light of these circumstances in verses 18-20, “ 18 What then? Only that in every way, whether in pretense or in truth, Christ is proclaimed; and in this I rejoice. Yes, and I will rejoice, 19 for I know that this will turn out for my deliverance through your prayers and the provision of the Spirit of Jesus Christ, 20 according to my earnest expectation and hope, that I will not be put to shame in anything, but that with all boldness, Christ will even now, as always, be exalted in my body, whether by life or by death.”  

Finding a way to rejoice in the valley is hard but when our focus is on how we can best glorify Christ is our goal, it becomes easy because He is our strength when we our weak. 

One thought on “Identified by our location

  1. Thank you for any other informative website.
    The place else may just I get that kind of information written in such a perfect way?
    I have a mission that I am just now running on, and I have been on the look
    out for such info.

Leave a comment